Hajj Glossary (Dictionary)
Jamrat ul Kubra The last stone pillar in the line. This is also called Jamrat ul Uqabah.
Jamrat ul Oola The first stone pillar in the line.
Jamrat ul Wusta The second (middle) stone pillar in the line.
Ka'bah A cubic structure originally built by Prophet Ibrahim (pbuh) and his eldest son Ishmael. It is now housed within the Haram ash Shareef in Makkah. During Hajj, the essential rite of Tawaf is performed around the Ka'bah. Every day, millions of Muslims perform prayers (salat) facing the direction of the Ka'bah.
Kaffarah Another name for Dum
Marwah A  rocky hillock located approximately one hundred yards from the Ka'bah inside Al Masjid ul Haram. The pilgrim performs the devotional rite of Sai between the hillocks of Safa and Marwah.
Mahram The husband, or a male companion of a female pilgrim to whom her marriage is expressly prohibited by the shariah (e.g., father, brother, uncle, nephew, etc.) A woman must  be accompanied by a Mahram for Umra and Hajj.
Makam-o-Ibrahim The stepping stone used by Prophet Ibrahim (pbuh) during the original construction of the Ka'bah. The stone carries the imprints of his feet, and is housed in a glass enclosure on the north side of the Kabah.

Masjid ul Haram

The mosque around the Kabah also known as Haram ash Shareef.
Mes'aa The stretch between Safa andMarwah. See also Sa'i.
Miqat An imaginary boundary around Makkah. A prospective pilgrim cannot cross this boundary without first changing into Ihram. This boundary is anchored by different townships and localities in different directions (Zul Hulaifa in the north, Yalamlam in the south-east, Dhat Irq in the north-east, Juhfah in the north-west, Qarn ul Manazil in the east.) The pilgrim changes into Ihram at Miqat and pronounces his intention to perform Umra or Hajj. For people living inside the Miqat permanently, their place of residence is their Miqat.
Mina  A desert location approximately three miles east of Makkah where several rites of Hajj are performed.
Muallim A knowledgeable professional who can guide the pilgrim during Hajj. Also called a Mutawwif.
Muhrim A pilgrim in the state of Ihram
Multazam The part of the Ka'bah between its door and Hajar ul Aswad. This is a specially sacred part of the Ka'bah. It is recommended that, if possible, the pilgrim should touch the Ka'bah at Multazam and offer supplications to Allah. However, this is not a part of the official rites of Hajj.
Mutamatti One who has performed Hajj ut Tamattu.
Mutawwif See Muallim
Muzdalifah A desert location approximately midway between Mina and Arafat. The pilgrim spends the night of the 10th of Zul Hijjah here.
Namira A mosque in Arafat
Niyyah Intention. All acts of worship are preceded by an appropriate niyyah.
Qarin One who has performed Hajj ul Qiran
Qasr The mode of shortened prayers usually offered when on a journey.
Qibla The direction (towards the Ka'bah) that Muslims face to pray.
Ramal The ritual where male pilgrims are required to walk briskly with their chests thrust forward and with their shoulders rolling slightly during the first three circuits of Tawaf ul Qudoom. Ladies are not required to practice Ramal
Reda' The upper cloth of Ihram.
Rummy The act of symbolically stoning the devil (shaitan) in Mina on the 10th through to the 13th of Zul Hijjah. This commemorates the tradition that Prophet Ibrahim (pbuh) was tempted three times by the devil but rejected all three of the devil's attempts by stoning him and driving him away. These three locations are symbolised by three stone pillars (jamaraat) in Mina.
Safa A small hillock approximately half a mile from the Kabah, inside Al Masjid ul Haram. The pilgrim performs the act of Sai (or 'running') between Safa and Marwah.
Sai The act of walking seven times back and forth between the rocky hillocks of Safa and Marwah. This act retraces the footsteps of Hajar (wife of Prophet Ibrahim), during her desperate search for water to quench the thirst of her infant son Ishmael after they were left in the desert by Prophet Ibrahim (pbuh) in response to a divine vision.
Salat Obligatory or supererogatory prayers.
Shawt One complete circumambulation, or circuit, of the Kabah. Each shawt (pl. ashwaat) starts and ends at Hajar ul Aswad. Seven ashwaat constitute one Tawaf.
Talbiyah A recital of the following words by the pilgrim during Umra and Hajj:
Labbaik Allahumma Labbaik. Labbaik, La Shareek Laka, Labbaik. Innal Hamdah, Wan Nematah, Laka wal Mulk, La Shareek Laka

Translation: "Here I am at Thy service O Lord, here I am. Here I am at Thy service and Thou hast no partners. Thine alone is All Praise and All Bounty, and Thine alone is The Sovereignty. Thou hast no partners."

The Talbiyah is a prayer as well as an assertion of the pilgrim's conviction that he intends to perform Hajj only for the glory of Allah. The pilgrim starts the recital upon changing into the Ihram, and continues to recite it frequently throughout Hajj. Male pilgrims recite the Talbiyah loudly whereas female pilgrims are required to recite it in a low voice.

Taqseer Shortening or clipping of the whole head of hair by the male pilgrim following the completion of Hajj. This may be performed in lieu of Halq. However, snipping off a few hairs here and there is not acceptable. The sunnah of Rasool Allah (pbuh) supports only Taqseer and Halq.
Tawaf The seven fold circumambulation of the Kabah while reciting prayers. It constitutes an integral part of Umra and Hajj. There are five different types of Tawaf (see below):
Tawaf ul Ifadah The Tawaf performed by the pilgrim on the 10th of Zul Hijjah as the last formal rite of Hajj in Makkah after changing into street clothes (also called Tawaf uz Ziyarah).
Tawaf un Nafl A devotional Tawaf which may be performed any time.
Tawaf ul Qudoom The initial Tawaf performed by the pilgrim upon entering Al Masjid ul Haram in Makkah pursuant upon his intention for Hajj.
Tawaf ul Umra The Tawaf performed as a rite of Umra.
Tawaf ul Wuda The Farewell Tawaf performed by the pilgrim just before leaving Makkah for his next destination.
Umra A set of religious and devotional rites performed in Makkah.   Umra, or lesser Hajj, can be performed at any time of the year and, unlike Hajj, does not involve the rites at Mina, Muzdalifah, and Arafat.
Waqfa The ritual of waqfa (standing before Allah) is performed by pilgrims at the Mount of Mercy in Arafat.It is a central rite of Hajj.
Wudhu The ablution that is performed prior to prayer..
Yaum un Nahr The 10th of Zul Hijjah. This day is designated as the preferred day of sacrifice during Hajj.
Yaum ut Tarwiyah The 8th of Zul Hijjah signifying the start of Hajj. The pilgrim proceeds to Mina on this day.
Zamzam The sacred water which sprang forth miraculously under Ishmael's (pbuh) tiny feet during his mother's frantic search between Safa and Marwah. Zamzam is now enclosed in a marble chamber in the Ka'bah.
Zul Hijjah The last month of the Islamic calendar.

For Previous Page Click here



Powered by ARAmedia , Internet Solution Providers